if I have to correct one more margin…

So in an attempt to get myself ahead of the game in some capacity, I spent quite a bit of time this week working on my type assignment for History and New Media.  I know class is behind a week with the snow cancellations and all (I had forgotten what it was like to be giddy over school being canceled) but I used all my free time from past week to get a leg up on the text assignment and revamp www.his2re.com  Hopefully both will be posted by class-time tonight (if not the new webpage then definitely the text assignment.) 

The type assignment was going fine until I started working with the pull quote.  After literally hours of trying to get one paragraphin my “maintext” div container to format differently then the rest, I finally managed something I’m pleased with.  Nonetheless, I think I learned an important lesson about creating a new class, although I’ll definitely need some clarification on how to do that properly tonight.

One of the things I did find especially frustrating was a lack of serious military fonts.  Most of the freeware font sites I visited had 10 different versions of stencil fonts, but I’ve always though those were hard to read.  For historians doing webpages on colonial or even earlier history there are a plethora of fonts to choose from, but I didn’t find anything that really fit modern military history themes (except a few versions of typewriter, which I think is ugly.)  Anyway, I finally decided on a nice serifed font called “Stone” for my text assignment.  I liked its clean looking style, and had a chance to play with it’s leading when while creating the assignment in Dreamweaver. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “if I have to correct one more margin…

  1. Hi Karin,

    I sensed (or just straight up heard) your frustration last night in class. I don’t think you should worry so much. It seems to me you’re getting the hang of it—you had all the elements in there. Web design can be hard work, and I say this as a person who has taught herself everything, from reading books and looking around the web. I’m in this class to glean what I can to push myself to the next level, and it’s still hard. I still work really hard at everything I do. I also just taught myself CSS last summer, and it took a couple of months before I was comfortable with basic styling. Now, I’m thinking more about design issues and web standards.

    Anyway, my point is just that you’re doing well, and you should give yourself time to get used to using these new tools and thinking about design and presentation. I am also happy to help in any way that I can. If you’d like to talk about your text assignment or anything, just let me know. Not that I know everything, but I have been doing this a bit longer and can offer a sounding board or advice.

    Hang in there!
    Laura

  2. Thanks Laura…I really appreciate your offer for help! I’m totally frustrated, especially by the amount of time it takes to do the simple things (I wasn’t exagerating when I said that seperate p-class took hours to figure out…my co-workers watched me bang my head on my desk all day.

    Thanks again!

  3. I recently found the Firefox add-on firebug (getfirebug.com) that is really handy when it comes to debugging css (and javascript too for that matter). Perhaps that can aid you in future CSS debugging sessions?

    By the way, are you the same Karin Hill that I once knew a bit, from Sundsvall, Sweden?

Leave a Reply

